Python Development with Databases?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Maverick

Hey all, so I like to start all my technical questions by letting people know I'm a crap-flinging monkey when it comes to programming/scripting.

I do have a book on python I'm working on/going to be working on to help me get solid with all this (followed by a book on C, perhaps, which I already have but have decided python would be better for me to start with mostly because at the moment I'm doing a lot of learning-by-doing and that doing is kinda pushed by my wanting to make scripts to do stuff I couldn't possible start working on with C at this moment.

That said, one of the things I've begun to start wanting to work databases a little and I've had no experience with them outside of some time back when I was doing things with vBulletin software.

The ORM vs. DRM discussion confuses me pretty quickly, but from what I know at this point, seems like long term I'm going to want to be using SQL databases, and of all the ones out there I (at the moment, anyways) am leaning towards PostgreSQL (mostly because of its roots, functionally I'm just not smart enough to be able to judge differences and don't see a reason to believe it'll matter much).

I suppose now I get to my actual question which is: what is involved in posting some basic information to a PostegreSQL database with Python?

There seems to be a lot of "Drivers" or "Wrappers" for the "Python DB API 2.0". Does this mean I can't just use python functionality to post to the database? Are there any good tutorials/examples of all this?

How involvement is the creation of the databases?

At the moment I suppose I'd be wanting to have a fair number of fields-per-entry; but it seems like there is a lot of SQL programming/language/whatever involved that I might not be understanding?

Thank for any help you can give!

2 comments